Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Team Members

Principle Investigator

Dr. Jiajia Chen, Assistant professor

Agricultural and Biological Systems Engineering, Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) 2015

  • 2023-present, International Microwave Power Institute Corresponding Board Member
  • 2019, Gamma Sigma Delta, The Honor Society of Agriculture-Chapter of Tennessee
  • 2016, Outstanding Reviewer, American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers

Current members

Dr. Ran Yang, Postdoc Research Associate


2019-2022 Ph.D. student

  • 2022 Excellence in Graduate Research Award from the Graduate Student Senate
  • 2021 Fall Student-Faculty Research Award
  • 2021 First place in the Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) Annual Meeting Product Development Graduate Student Competition
  • 2021 First place in the International Microwave Power Institute (IMPI) Symposium Graduate Student Competition
  • 2021 Second place in the IFT Volunteer Section 5th Annual State-Wide Competition Oral Presentation
  • 2021 Spring Graduate School Fellowship Award
Fernando Cantarero Rivera, Ph.D. candidate


  • 2022 Spring Student-Faculty Research Award
Arjun Ghimire, Ph.D., student


  • 2022-2026 Hebert College of Agriculture Graduate Fellowship
Raihanul Haque, Ph.D. student


  • 2023-2027 Hebert College of Agriculture Graduate Fellowship

Former members

  • Kartik Verma, M.S., 2021-2023, 2022 Student-Faculty Research Award, Ph.D. Student at the Ohio State University
  • Renee Abernathy, Sean Moran & Keely Sage, BESS senior design, 2021-2022, second place in UTK undergraduate design competition
  • Benjamin Cruz & Colby Alan, BESS senior design, 2020-2021, third place in the 2021 American Society of Agriculture and Biological Engineers (ASABE) AGCO National Student Design Competition
  • Qianyi Chen, M.S., 2019-2021, Fairlife LLC.
  • Nathaly Vargas, 2019, Intern from Zamorano Pan-American Agricultural School, Honduras